Last week the mysterious CCTV video that for the past week had been streaming live at 727548.co.uk revealed the return of the multi-platinum-selling, multiple-award winning hip hop star Dizzee Rascal. Holed up in a bunker in Bow, east London, Dizzee was seen writing down what turns out to be the tracklisting for his forthcoming new album, RASKIT, before debuting a snip of the video for his new track ‘Space,’ released in full today and available to stream and download now. RASKIT is released 21 July via Dirtee Stank Recordings /Island Records, and is available to pre-order now.

RASKIT, Dizzee’s sixth album and first in four years, returns the compliment of Drake’s recent grime-flavoured mixtape – and with interest. It teams precision-tooled beats from a stellar array of US producers (Valentino Khan, Cardo and Paul Salva among them) with the sound of Britain’s finest MC – bar none, in a field of his own, champion of a league of one – “rapping my arse off”. The result  is a spiraling sub-bass vortex of introspective jeep-beats which takes the man Jeremy Paxman called Mr Rascal right back to his roots, but with a hip-hop twist Jay-Z or E40 would be proud of.

Watch ‘Space’: https://DizzeeRascal.lnk.to/SpaceVideo
Stream / download ‘Space’: https://DizzeeRascal.lnk.to/Space
Pre-order RASKIT: https://DizzeeRascal.lnk.to/Raskit

“The idea of trying to be my 17 year old self again just because everyone thinks grime’s landed in their lap this week didn’t satisfy me”, Dizzee explains. “I wanted to use what I’ve learned to make the best rap album I could, with no hands in the air moments, just using as much English slang as I could over the best beats I could find”.

Following the release or RASKIT, Dizzee Rascal will head out on a major tour of the UK this October. Tickets go on general sale 9am Friday 23 June.

WWW.GIGSANDTOURS.COM | WWW.TICKETMASTER.CO.UK*

RASKIT UK TOUR

Mon 02 Oct Liverpool O2 Academy*
Tue 03 Oct Glasgow O2 Academy*
Thu 05 Oct Newcastle O2 Academy*
Fri 06 Oct Sheffield O2 Academy*
Sat 07 Oct Leeds O2 Academy*
Mon 09 Oct Norwich, Uea
Thu 12 Oct London O2 Academy Brixton*
Fri 13 Oct Cambridge Corn Exchange
Sat 14 Oct Manchester Academy
Mon 16 Oct Bristol O2 Academy*
Tue 17 Oct Nottingham Rock City
Thu 19 Oct Southend Cliffs Pavilion
Fri 20 Oct Birmingham O2 Academy*
Sat 21 Oct Brighton Dome

I Love Newcastle Magazine would love to hear your thoughts about the above post, so please feel free to share them in the comments box below.

SHARE
We, at I Love Newcastle magazine, are as Newcastle as it gets. A small band of incorruptible, like-minded individuals who are Newcastle-born & Newcastle-bred, media trained and who share the same passion – love and affection for our city.

Have Your Say